Just to please you

To me you are everything that matters, I don’t know why
When you show disapproval I try my hardest to please you
Because when you are around, I miss everything else
Because in your presence, my full attention is yours

And I am exhausted
And I am frustrated

To me you are everything because I have become you
I didn’t want to be you, but I see you in me
I want to make you happy, just as you want me to
But we are not the same, and I always fail to please you completely

And now I know
And I can let go

I love you, and I will not be you
And I won’t try to please you exclusively
And I won’t demand that from others
And I will be released from this burden

and maybe you’ll see this too.

Leave a Reply

